The Diver wins Flickerfest Australian grand prize

This could be a real local breakthrough moment for Michael Leonard and Jamie Helmer, who are known better overseas.

Flickerfest marks both the end of the 2019 awards race in shorts and the beginning of 2020. It is also deeply satisfying to be a finalist and of course more satisfying to actually win. 

The Diver won the Best Australian short and therefore an Academy Award entry for 2021, which will keep the gang hoping for an entire year. This is a hyphenated crew: Michael Leonard and Jamie Helmer are recorded as writer/director/producer, the writer/producer is Michael Leonard and the pure producers are Justin Pechberty and Damien Megherbi. 

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

About the Author
ScreenHub​ is the online home for emerging and experienced Australian screen professionals.