Mini APSA Awards honours youth plus experience, and diversity (naturally)

Asia Pacific Screen Awards went to Thai creative producer Soros Sukhum, young Indian filmmaker Akshay Indikar, and a special mention for Australia's High Ground.

With strict travel restrictions in place, it wasn’t the Asia Pacific Screen Awards as usual last night. Instead of the once-hoped-for 14th-year Gala, this was a special limited presentation, with two important awards announced, a Special Mention, and four $25,000 filmmaker development grants. 

Held at the Home of the Arts (HOTA) on the Gold Coast, and hosted by Iranian born Australian presenter Leila McKinnon, the event was attended by Jack Thompson AM, President of the APSA Academy. It was the culmination of the 2020 Asia Pacific Screen Forum, a week-long series of panel and roundtable events delivered both in person and digitally, with participants from 18 countries.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

About the Author
ScreenHub​ is the online home for emerging and experienced Australian screen professionals.