Leah Purcell wins APSA Jury Grand Prize

Leah Purcell has won the Jury prize for The Drover's Wife: The Legend of Molly Johnson at the 2021 Asia Pacific Screen Awards.
Leah Purcell and Nashen Moodley 14th APSA Awards

The 14th Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) International Jury has awarded Goa-Gunggari-Wakka Wakka Murri Woman Leah Purcell OAM the prestigious APSA Jury Grand Prize for her achievement in co-producing, writing, directing and starring in The Drover’s Wife The Legend of Molly Johnson (Oombarra Productions and Bunya Productions).

Purcell is the first Australian to receive the APSA Jury Grand Prize, which was presented to her by APSA International Jury member and Sydney Film Festival director Nashen Moodley.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

Rochelle Siemienowicz is a journalist for Screenhub. She is a writer, film critic and cultural commentator with a PhD in Australian cinema. She was the co-host of Australia's longest-running film podcast 'Hell is for Hyphenates' and has written a memoir, Fallen, published by Affirm Press. You can find her on Twitter and Instagram

Unlock Padlock Icon

Support us to keep providing
Screen news and jobs

Become a member and unlock access to jobs and all premium articles and news content