Screen Music Awards 2019 – the sweetest comp of all

The Screen Music Awards are back and the judges have expert ears so its game on for the clash of the composers.

The 2019 Screen Music Awards are off and running again, and the 2019 contenders have been announced. There are a lot of musicians who work in the smaller, more voluntary end of the screen world, but only a small cohort who build a career on larger projects. 

So the same names go round and round, but their work is exquisite. Practice does make perfect, and the discipline requires a deep understanding of composition, film, storytelling and found sound. And the discipline to realise that less is more. 

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

David Tiley was the Editor of Screenhub from 2005 until he became Content Lead for Film in 2021 with a special interest in policy. He is a writer in screen media with a long career in educational programs, documentary, and government funding, with a side order in script editing. He values curiosity, humour and objectivity in support of Australian visions and the art of storytelling.