Rowan Woods elected new President of Australian Director’s Guild

Rowan Woods, one of our most experienced film and TV directors, steps into the ADG presidency as Samantha Lang steps down after six years in the role.
Rowan Woods, President of the Australian Director's Guild

Rowan Woods has just been elected as President of the Australian Director’s Guild. He is a much-awarded working director of film and television, whose credits include his gripping first feature The Boys (1998), Little Fish (2006) starring Cate Blanchett and Hugo Weaving, and television shows like The Kettering Incident, Rake and The Commons. Woods has also worked internationally, including on VFX-driven TV like Farscape, Spartacus and Hunters, and recently won a Children’s BAFTA for his set-up episodes of the children’s series Nowhere Boys for ABC TV. He is also the current Head of Directing at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS).

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

Rochelle Siemienowicz is the ArtsHub Group's Education and Career Editor. She is a journalist for Screenhub and is a writer, film critic and cultural commentator with a PhD in Australian cinema. She was the co-host of Australia's longest-running film podcast 'Hell is for Hyphenates' and has written a memoir, Fallen, published by Affirm Press. Her second book, Double Happiness, a novel, will be published by Midnight Sun in 2024. Instagram: @Rochelle_Rochelle Twitter: @Milan2Pinsk