David Tiley wins the Stanley Hawes Award

Tiley's win was announced alongside 21 nominees for the Australian International Documentary Conference Awards 2022.
ScreenHub's award-winning Rascal at Large David Tiley. Image supplied.

Former ScreenHub Editor – and current Rascal at Large – David Tiley has won the $5,000 Stanley Hawes Award at the Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC), alongside nominations for this year’s forthcoming AIDC Awards.

The $5,000 Stanley Hawes Award is presented annually to a producer, director, editor, cinematographer, sound recordist, presenter, facilitator, educator, broadcaster, distributor, commissioning editor or any profession deemed significant within the nonfiction screen sector.

In presenting the award, the AIDC described Tiley as an ‘indefatigable champion of documentary and factual production, and one of our most passionate grassroots commentators on the screen business.

‘Throughout his career, David has worked tirelessly in roles at Film Victoria, the Australian Film Commission, AFTRS, and ScreenHub – acting as Editor since 2005 before becoming the Content Lead for Film in 2021. With this award, AIDC acknowledges his outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary and factual sector.’

Read: Film Review: ‘I’m Wanita’ isn’t just another ‘Star is Born’ story

Tiley said it was an honour to receive the award. ‘I am so happy with this I can’t uncurl my toes,’ he added. ‘And really delighted that the Stanley Hawes Award recognises that documentary is a broad passion and not just a bunch of shows. I am so honoured, and relieved, that wordsmiths are seen as part of the movement.’

The award was established in 1997 to honour documentary producer and director Stanley Hawes, Producer-in-Chief of the Australian National Film Board and Commonwealth Film Unit from 1946-1969.

Read: Film Review: My Name is Gulpilil captures the legacy of a star

Launched in 2021, the AIDC Awards recognise outstanding works of new Australian documentary and factual content across six different categories.

CEO/Creative Director Natasha Gadd said: ‘After the extraordinary response to the inaugural AIDC Awards in 2021, it was clear that our industry is wholeheartedly embracing a new initiative that celebrates and acknowledges the craft and talent of Australian documentary and factual content.’

The 2022 AIDC Awards Presentation will be held on Wednesday 9 March 2022 at ACMI, Melbourne. 


The remarkable expertise and work of Australian practitioners will be recognised across six award categories: Best Documentary Feature, with a $5,000 cash prize presented by Film Finances; Best Documentary/Factual Series; Best Documentary/Factual Single; Best Audio Documentary, with a $3,000 cash prize presented by AFTRS; Best Short Form Documentary; and Best Interactive/Immersive Documentary. 

A full list of award nominees is below.


This award is supported by completion guarantor Film Finances with a $5,000 cash prize.

I’m Wanita

Matthew Walker, Carolina Sorensen, Clare Lewis, Tait Brady | PEOPLE PRODUCTIONS, 2020.

My Name is Gulpilil

Molly Reynolds, Peter Djigirr, David Gulpilil, Rolf de Heer | VERTIGO PRODUCTIONS & ABCG FILM, 2021.

The Bowraville Murders

Allan Clarke, Stefan Moore, Dan Goldberg, Susan Lambert, Adam Kay | MINT PICTURES & JUMPING DOG PRODUCTIONS, 2021.

Valerie Taylor: Playing With Sharks 

Bettina Dalton, Sally Aitken | WILDBEAR ENTERTAINMENT, 2021.


Laura’s Choice

Sam Lara, Cathy Henkel, Ryan Hodgson, Melissa Kelly | VIRGO PRODUCTIONS, 2021.

Life in Colour with David Attenborough 

Adam Geiger, Colette Beaudry, Sharmila Choudury | SEALIGHT PICTURES AND HUMBLE BEE FILMS, 2021.

The School That Tried to End Racism

John Karabelas, Deb Spinocchia, Johnny Lowry | SCREENTIME AUSTRALIA, 2021. 

See What You Made Me Do

Tosca Looby, Karina Holden | NORTHERN PICTURES, 2021.


Brazen Hussies

Catherine Dwyer, Andrea Foxworthy, Philippa Campey | FILM CAMP, 2020.

Our African Roots

Santilla Chingaipe, Tony Jackson, David Collins | CHEMICAL MEDIA, 2021.


Scott Baskett, Jared Nicholson, Naomi Just, Gene Geoffrey | RUN WILD PRODUCTIONS, 2021.


This award is supported by AFTRS, with a $3,000 cash prize.

samsn’s STRONGER

Felicity Blake, 2021.

Stuff The British Stole

Marc Fennell, Zoe Ferguson | ABC, 2021.

Tender: Roia Atmar

Madison Griffiths, Beth Atkinson-Quinton | BROADWAVE, 2021.


Capturing Change

Chris Phillips, Katy Roberts | MELT STUDIO, 2021 

Freedom Swimmer

Olivia Martin-McGuire, Brooke Silcox, Ron Dyens | NO THING PRODUCTIONS & SACREBLEU PRODUCTIONS, 2021

Lost Contact

Amelia Paxman, Jaina Kalifa, 2021

Where Is My Darling?

Adam Finney, 2021


Eastern Market Murder

Emma Ramsay, Andy Yong | TRUE CRIME GAMES, 2021.

Ravi and Emma

Kylie Boltin, Ella Rubeli | SBS, 2021.


Ben Joseph Andrews, Emma Roberts | PERNICKETY SPLIT, 2022.

To learn more about each nominee and the winner of the Stanley Hawes Award, visit the Nominees page.

Paul Dalgarno writes novels: A Country of Eternal Light (2023) and Poly (2020); memoir: And You May Find Yourself (2015); and creative non-fiction: Prudish Nation (2023). He was formerly Deputy Editor of The Conversation and joined ScreenHub as Managing Editor in 2022. Twitter: @pauldalgarno. Insta: @narrativefriction